Liturgy Institute London

For a detailed and peaceful study of Liturgy

North-Continental Europe


Click on individual names to see their publications

BELGIUM (Flanders):

Monastic contributions to the Classical Liturgical Movement.

Dom Gaspar Lefebvre of Sint Andries, Zevenkerken, Brugge 1880 – 1966

Dom Bernard Capelle, Abbot of Mont César, Keizersberg, Leuven 1928 – 1952

Dom Bernard Botte of Abdij Keizersberg, Leuven 1883 – 1980

Dom Lambert Beauduin, of Abdij Keizersberg, Leuven 1873 – 1960

Dom Eligius Dekkers, Abbot of Sint-Pietersabdij in Steenbrugge 1915 – 1998

Dom Ambroos Verheul, monk of the abbey of Affligem, later abbot of Keizersberg.

Secular priest contributions: Mgr Kamiel (Camille) Callewaert, Bruges – Brugge.


BELGIUM (Wallonia)

Maresdous Abbey



Monastic contributions to the Classical Liturgical Movement.

St Peter’s Abbey, Solesmes: Abbot Prosper Guéranger

St Wandrille de Fontanelle: Dom Joseph Pothier

St Martin, Ligugé:

The French monks at Farnborough have made a lasting contribution to Liturgical

Abbot Fernand Cabrol (1855-1937), formerly prior of the French Abbey of Saint
Pierre de Solesmes, had dreamed of a monastic foundation dedicated to
liturgical studies. This was accomplished at St Michael’s Abbey, Farnborough.

Dictionnaire d’Archéologie Chétienne et de la Liturgie.


Secular priest contributions:

Abbé Victor Leroquais (1875-1946, Canon of the diocese of Dijon)

Pierre-Marie GY, O.P.

     Institut Superieur de Liturgie, Paris (1956)

     Centre de Pastorale Liturgique (maintenant SNPLS), Paris (1943)


Monastic contributions to the Classical Liturgical Movement.

Stift Neuberg bei Heidelberg

Maria Laach





Central Continental Europe            South Continental Europe

© James Leachman, O.S.B.,  17 February 2012